Hit the road

“We are heading out at 6 AM –or at least try to”, Nannette is planning our road trip from Michigan to Vermont.

“6 sounds good to me!” I smiled and Will gave me the what-have-you-done-to-my-wife look. “Well, it’s not like I’m going to sleep before 8 AM anyway! I’ll sleep in the car” I explained and everybody breathed again.

In 3 hours I’m making a huge breakfast for everybody and then we are heading off to our Vermont adventure. We’ll be driving through Canada and making a stop at Niagara falls.*screams*

Did I ever tell you that Niagara Falls were one of my dream destinations that I was always too embarrassed to admit because they sound so touristy? Well, now you know. *screams again*

I’m so excited I can hardly wait for these 3 hours to pass.

I remember this feeling before a family road trip to Northern Greece and finally Samothrace (well the last part was on a ferry) when I was 9 or 10. Two cars, our laughing parents at their best (everybody is more fun on holiday) and a gang of 5 cousins. I didn’t sleep at all the night before. All I could think of was the car waiting outside already loaded with our swimsuits and favorite books and toys and before I knew it I heard a rooster (our starting point was my parents’ farm) and Dad’s alarm clock. Nobody believed I didn’t get any sleep –you know when you are a kid and something extraordinary happens (my first sleepless night!) and the grownups are brushing away your annoying chattering like you don’t know what you are talking about and they know better? It was one of these experiences. More than 20 years later, I still can’t sleep but at least now I can blog about it.

When we were getting in the car, it was still kind of dark and cold (I had to wear a long sleeved sweater in August!) and the air was so full of magic and mystery that I was jumping and burbling uncontrollably.

Now I know it took all my parents’ patience not to struggle me with these long sleeves that impressed me so much. At least now I give people coffee before I start acting like I’m on sugar high!

*screams silently*

2 Comments

Filed under Traveling around the world

2 responses to “Hit the road

  1. na peraseis a3exasta!!perimenoume anametadosi apo tous kataraktes tou NIagara!!!

  2. γιωτα δεχεσαι επισκέψεις?μπορειτε να με υιοθετήσετε για οικιακή βοηθό-θα σας πλένω τα ρούχα και στα ρεπα μου θα πηγαινω στο χολυγουντ να βρω γαμπρό. μέχρι τα 30 μου θα εχω αποκατασταθεί και εγκατασταθεί στο αμέρικα.

Leave a Reply

